Recognition Programs

AEMS is proud to recognize Maryland principals who ensure a high-quality arts education for their students. The Alvin and Louise Myerberg Arts Leadership Recognition Awards are presented to outstanding principals from Maryland public school systems who recognize the power of the arts in preparing 21st century learners with 21st century skills, and in doing so support teaching in and through the arts as a way of engaging students. All nominees are recognized, and three nominees win a prize of $500 donated to their school for arts programming.

The 2019 Nominees were (winning principals marked with a *):

  • Helen ‘Beth’ Shakan* (Anne Arundel County Public Schools)
  • Maureen Astarita* (Baltimore County Public Schools)
  • Jennifer Noll* (Baltimore County Public Schools)
  • Rick Robb (Howard County Public Schools)
  • John Schrecongost (Queen Anne’s County Public Schools)

The  Jay Tucker Award for Outstanding Leadership in Arts Education is awarded to an individual who has advanced or is advancing arts education in one or more Maryland school districts. Since 2015, the award has been named in honor of the former Coordinator of Fine Arts at the Maryland State Department of Education, Jay Tucker, to highlight Jay’s legacy and the lasting impact of his contributions to the field of arts education in Maryland. The awards review panel consists of members of our steering committee, advisory committee, and board of trustees.

Nominees are individual adults who have demonstrated a commitment to arts and exceptional leadership and whose work has influenced arts education in the schools (PK-20) of Maryland. Nominees demonstrate the following:

  • Leadership at local, regional, state or national level in arts education with commitment to Maryland public schools
  • Exceptional contributions to arts education in Maryland
  • A shared vision for arts education in the community and its achievement through enlisted partners
  • Transferred a vision into planning, implementation, and evaluation
  • Excellence and dedication in your arts education field

This year’s winner was Julia Di Bussolo, Executive Director of Arts Every Day. Congratulations Julia!

Past Recipients:

  • 2009 – Barbara Frick King
  • 2010 – Dr. Kevin Maxwell
  • 2011 – Dr. Nelson Fritts & Sue Owens
  • 2012 – Pat Cruz
  • 2013 – Jay Tucker
  • 2014 – Mark Coates
  • 2015 – Dr. Nancy Grasmick
  • 2016 – Dr. Jack Smith
  • 2017 – First Lady Yumi Hogan
  • 2018 – Linda Sato Adams

Subscribe to
Our Newsletter